Whole Foods Market will open a relocated 63,082-square-foot flagship at Los Angeles’ 3rd and Fairfax on Nov. 11, loaded with California suppliers and opening-day promotions.
The Austin-based grocer, part of Amazon’s Worldwide Grocery Stores, announced the move for the Bloom on Third shopping center at 355 S. Ogden Drive. Doors open at 9:00 a.m. on Nov. 11, 2026. Regular hours run 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. daily.
The project is a relocation of the original Fairfax store next door, which has served the area since 2002. A designated parking structure offers more than 600 spaces.
Company copy frames the build as a larger local showcase, not a retreat from the neighborhood. Grocery Pickup is slated to come online shortly after opening.
Assortment planning leaned on Patrick Wyman, Whole Foods Market’s forager for local and emerging brands. The store is set to carry more than 1,900 local items from California-based suppliers.
Named producers and brands in the release span wine, beer, produce, proteins, and prepared foods. The list includes Massican, Field Recordings, Bernardus Winery, Los Angeles Ale Works, Russian River Brewing Company, Golden State Cider, Kenter Canyon Farms, Cinagro Farms, Coke Farm, Mary’s Chickens, True Story Foods, Pozzi Ranch, Kikka Sushi, Tartine Bakery, Beach City Coffee, Uli’s Gelato, The Santa Barbara Smokehouse, Tsar Nicoulai, Fishwife Tinned Seafood Co, and others.
Alcohol space is large on paper: more than 780 wines and more than 600 craft beers. Taproom events with a DJ, wine tasting, and demo activations are booked for Nov. 14 and Nov. 21 from 2, 7 p.m.
The first 300 customers in line get a limited-edition 3rd and Fairfax tote bag. The first 100 get a special mini version. A Secret Saver coupon advertises savings up to $100 off. U.S. veterans can pick up a cookie at customer service.
Whole Foods also plans food and monetary donations to Food Cycle LA, which already makes regular surplus-food pickups from local stores and previously received a refrigerated van through the company’s Nourishing Our Neighborhoods program. The exact dollar figure for the new cash gift was not stated.
Reprise Health is due a low-interest loan through the Whole Foods Market Lending Program to support expansion into about 135 Whole Foods locations. Since 2006, that program has extended loans to more than 300 suppliers and roughly $42 million in capital. Loan terms for Reprise were not disclosed.
The company repeated its familiar quality rules: no hydrogenated fats or high-fructose corn syrup, and bans on more than 300 common flavors, colors, sweeteners, and other ingredients. Body-care standards bar more than 240 ingredients, including phthalates, parabens, and microbeads. Produce and floral items fall under a pollinator health policy aimed at cutting chemical pesticide use. Seafood is described as sustainable wild-caught or Responsibly Farmed. Animal products are pitched as raised with no antibiotics ever.
Shoppers can pay in-store with the Whole Foods Market or Amazon app. Prime members get an extra 10% off hundreds of in-store sale items, plus deep weekly discounts on select popular products.
Whole Foods, founded in 1980, now operates more than 560 stores across the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. The Los Angeles flagship is another private bet that customers will pay for scale, parking, and a long local supplier list, without a public subsidy attached to the ribbon-cutting.
When a grocery chain puts its own capital, suppliers, and name on the line, the verdict still belongs to the people pushing the carts.